Useful On-Line Tools for Land Trusts

Staff members of the Georgia and Alabama Land Trusts presented a session on Annual Monitoring at the Land Trust Alliance’s Southeast Conference. Our presentation referenced a goodly number of web sites and it was requested that we post some to the web. We have compared notes and compiled the list below. We would welcome any additional sites or comments on the list below.

GIS/Mapping

Georgia Data Clearinghouse – https://data.georgiaspatial.org/index.asp

NRCS Web Soil Survey – http://websoilsurvey.nrcs.usda.gov/app/HomePage.htm
Allows easy soil mapping, ag/timber capability mapping

NRCS Geospatial Data Gateway – http://datagateway.nrcs.usda.gov/

Alabama Data Portal – http://portal.gsa.state.al.us/

Alabama State Water Program – http://www.aces.edu/waterquality/gis_data/

GIS Pilot –  http://www.gispilot.com/

USFWS GIS Data – http://www.fws.gov/data/statdata/index.html

National Atlas – http://www.nationalatlas.gov/pros.html

GIS Data Links – http://www.doylesdartden.com/gis/misc_gis.html

Georgia Maps – http://georgiainfo.galileo.usg.edu/gamaps.htm

More Georgia Maps – http://geology.com/state-map/georgia.shtml

Google maps – http://maps.google.com/

Bing Maps – http://www.bing.com/maps/
(good aerial photos; amazing bird’s eye view in urbanized areas)

NARSAL Watershed Maps – http://narsal.uga.edu/glut/maps_watersheds.html

Metro Atlanta Road Map – http://www.aaccessmaps.com/show/map/atlanta_metro_se.html

Research

Georgia Info       http://georgiainfo.galileo.usg.edu/

New Georgia Encyclopedia  – http://www.georgiaencyclopedia.org/nge/Home.jsp

BNET (searchable articles on a lot of topics) – http://www.bnet.com/

GCWCS – http://www1.gadnr.org/cwcs/

USDA Plants Database – http://plants.usda.gov/

Fire Effects Information System – http://www.fs.fed.us/database/feis/index.html

Atlas of Florida Vascular Plants – http://www.florida.plantatlas.usf.edu/

NatureServe – http://www.natureserve.org/

Encyclopedia of Life – http://www.eol.org/

GA Rare Element Occurrences – http://www.georgiawildlife.com/content/displaycontent.asp?txtDocument=89&txtPage=9

Encyclopedia of Earth – http://www.eoearth.org/

Sherpa Guides – http://www.sherpaguides.com/

Georgia Tax Assessors – http://gaassessors.com/

Coastal Georgia Ecosystems – http://gce-lter.marsci.uga.edu/public/app/all_species_lists.asp

Georgia Comprehensive Wildlife Conservation Strategy – http://www1.gadnr.org/cwcs/

Georgia DNR – http://www.gadnr.org/naturalresources.aspx

World Wildlife Fund (ecoregion descriptions)- http://www.worldwildlife.org/wildworld/profiles/terrestrial_na.html

The Nature Conservancy – http://www.tnc.org

Weather (For planning when to go into the woods or stay in the barn)

Wundermap – http://www.wunderground.com/wundermap
(interactive weather map with Google Map foundation. Has animation and storm track features.)

Unisys – http://weather.unisys.com/satellite/sat_ir_enh_us_loop-12.html
(Animated satellite map that is real handy for guesstimating weather based on a three or twelve hour scroll.)

Land Trust/Land Management Info

Land Trust Alliance – http://www.lta.org

Private Landowners Network – http://www.privatelandownernetwork.org/plnlo/doc280162.asp
(mother lode of resources)

Georgia/Alabama Land Trust – http://www.galandtrust.org
(A lot of links posted on the site; some reasonably well thought articles on land protection.)

Appraisal Institute – http://www.appraisalinstitute.org/

American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers – http://www.asfmra.org/education/schedule/

Forest Guild – http://www.forestguild.org
(Has posts of its magazine Forest Wisdom)

Advertisements